Ten years ago today, the Niagara Falls History Museum opened to the public!
The Niagara Falls History Museum celebrates the history of the City of Niagara Falls and commemorates the Battle of Lundy’s Lane, a pivotal battle in the War of 1812 that halted the American advance into Upper Canada and ensured the survival of Canada as a sovereign nation. To support the museum’s expanded mandate as a national cultural institution, Moriyama & Teshima Architects led a heritage restoration of the existing museum building, the 1874 Old Stamford Town Hall, and designed a 10,000 square-foot expansion that more than doubled the museum’s size, creating much-needed new exhibition and archival spaces. New facilities include a two-storey permanent gallery, a temporary gallery, a 75-seat theatre, archival facilities, administrative offices and a glass entrance atrium that doubles as an event space.
It is a cherished space for the Niagara Region; a welcoming facility for both the local community and worldwide tourists to visit and learn about the rich history of this remarkable area in Southern Ontario. MTA is proud to celebrate this milestone and is looking forward to the next decade!